When creating a project, there are a number of aspects that are configured separately from the building of the project.
Project settings/properties can be accessed through the project card menu in the Home Area, through the Project Page/Project Settings links.
A Readme is a free-form text area that lets you add a longer form description or documentation about your project, which will be displayed on the project page when visiting directly, e.g. through a share link. You can format your Readme using Markdown.
Public vs Private
A key decision when creating a project is whether it is public or private. Public projects are available to anyone, and must be licensed under the Creative Commons CC-BY-4.0, which allows others to freely use and create derivative works from your own work, but must attribute you if they do so.
Private projects are under no license obligation, and can only be accessed either through a Share Link, or through the project being in an organisation with other members.
If you are no longer using a project, you can opt to archive it. This removes it from the default list of projects in your home area, and it will be made unavailable to anyone except your own account (even when public or through share links). Archived projects will however still retain their unique project slug.
Projects can be deleted through the project settings page. Deleting a project is irreversible and should only be done if you are absolutely sure you do not need the project any longer. If you are in doubt, use the archival functionality, as even Silico employees cannot recover a deleted project for you.
If you have a private project, you can grant access to others by creating a share link. You can create and manage share links from the project card menu in the home area, the project properties page, as well as from within the application under the Project menu.
Share links are secret unguessable links which let anyone with the link access your project. While the viewer cannot edit your original project, they can view any data within and make copies of it into their own account. A share link can be revoked, and access will no longer be possible, but this will not affect any copies that have already been created by others. Therefore you should only give Share Links to those you would trust with a copy of the project.
Please sign in to leave a comment.